Wye Team Championship 26/2/23
Club News, Open Matches

Wye Team Championship 26/2/23

Monday 27th February 2023.

Yesterday saw 12 teams of 6 take part in the 34th Wye Team Championship. The match was fished between Breinton and Eign and anglers were again faced with a low and very clear river, but with an average temperature of around 9C,it was expected that chub and barbel would feature in the bulk of catches. As this is a team match and overall position is based on points a good draw was essential. The out of town sections have not been match fished much during the Winter so it was difficult to predict where the individual winner was likely to come from. As it turned out Breinton was the worst section with only 2 of the 12 anglers in the section managing to weigh in. The majority of anglers on the other sections managed to put something on the scales to gain some points.

Top individual weight went to Simon Deakin (Ludlow) who weighed in 119lb 4oz of waggler caught chub from a peg near the top end of Bartonsham. Second was Andy Murphy (Cadence) with 115lb 14oz from permanent pge 94 on Belmont and third individual was Scott Geens (Woodys Premier) who managed 102lb exactly from noted peg 96 on Belmont.

Teamwise Storeys MG  came top of the pile  with 45 points and a combined weight of 212lb despite having an angler in the Breinton section who failed to catch. Runners up were Alans Tackle with a total of 41points followed closely by Milo Bait Tech with 40 points. Despite the low and clear conditions the river generally fished well apart from the Breinton section with plenty of double figure weights.

This was the last of the winter open matches and a big thanks must go to Dave Roberts for organising and running them with help from Tony Doyle and Pete Pembridge. Thanks also to Geoff Brierley who has collated all the results for the matches and produced some great in depth stats which are invaluable in helping assess the fish stocks in the local area. The full results from the match are shown below along with individual winner Simon Deakin.